Keep Those Ears Busy!

Hello and best for 2010.

I finished a big study of Miles Davis, listening to most of his work in chronological order.  I also played my vinyl collection of Charlie Parker’s Royal Roost recordings (narrated by the one and only Symphony Sid.  You get to hear Bird’s speaking voice a bit too, and he sings on Salt Peanuts).

Other close musical studies (on-going) involve Harry Partch, Thelonious Monk and Rahsaan Roland Kirk.

Then there’s a lot of music from Africa (especially Franco and Oumou Sangare) and from Morocco.  Other recent favorites include Art Pepper, Mildred Bailey, Willie Nelson, Randy Weston, Charlie Patton, Harry Nilsson, the Mighty Sparrow and the late Vic Chesnutt.

I wouldn’t presume to list everything I hear, but I love my music and I’m often listening!

Leave a Reply

